Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

MARFC April General Meeting & Elections for 2022!

The April 9th meeting at the Toledo Speedway Bar & Grill was held in conjunction with the ARCA/Flat Rock/Toledo Racers” Reunion.  After a two year pause due to Cov-id, there was a very nice turnout of former racers and fans Brian Norton, Scott Schultz and Ron Drager did an outstanding job of hosting the event. MARFC held the April general membership meeting following the Reunion. The Bi-annual election of the Board of Directors told place at the meeting. The results of the election are:

President –                        John Jackson

Vice President                  Dave DeHem

Secretary/Treasurer        Nancy May

New Board of Directors: Rusty Daggett, Eric Fitzpatrick, Rich Frantz, Kelly Hollister, David Howe, Rob Michon, Rand Thompson, Karl Zarbo

Following the election of the Board of Directors, we had four great speakers. Ron Drager and Scott Schultz gave attendees updates on Flat Rock Speedway, Toledo Speedway and ARCA. Scott talked about plans for Flat Rock’s 70th Anniversary night of racing and celebration on July 9th. Outgoing MARFC President Bill Barnhart shared some historical perspectives about MARFC and his observations from his long tenure on the Board and as President. Those in attendance at the meeting also enjoyed hearing from longtime ARCA Menards Series driver Brad Smith, a lifetime Michigan resident who teamed for several years with the legendary James Hylton. He shared he will run a total of 24 races this season in the ARCA Menards and ARCA East Series. Smith had already driven in races at New Smyrna, Daytona and Five Flags Speedway in Florida, as well as Phoenix. (Photo Top Left: President John Jackson & Brad Smith) (Photo Center: Ron Drager) (Photo Right: Scott Schultz)