Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

2017 Awards Banquet

View Photos Here


51st Annual Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club Awards Banquet Celebrating Achievements during the 2016 Racing Season

DeCarlo’s Banquet Center, Center Line, MI

January 21, 2017

President “Wild” Bill Barnhart
Vice President Dave DeHem
Secretary-Treasurer Barbara Gullett
Advisor Vito LoPiccolo
P. R. Director Rand Thompson
Board of Directors
Larry Iacoboni – Jeff Horan – Barry Meschke
Al Peltier – Fran Russo – Rand Thompson
Dennis Trinklein – Bill Walters
Master of Ceremonies
Rich Frantz*
Membership Chairperson Fran Russo
Raffle Tickets Jeff Horan, Al Peltier & Barb Gullett
Photographer Paul Anton & Rand Thompson
Raffle Prize Chairperson Larry Iacoboni
MARFC President’s Award Butch Miller
MARFC/Eddie Sachs Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award Ron Hemelgarn
MARFC /Vito LoPiccolo Memorial Contribution to Motorsports Award Charles Newby
MARFC Special Achievement Award Larry Loynes
ARCA Racing Series by Menards Chase Briscoe
ARCA Gold Cup Late Model Series Steve Needles
ARCA Silver Cup Late Model Sportsman Series Ron Allen
Auto City Speedway Pure Stock Josh DeLong
Auto City Speedway Figure “8” Chad Lamson
Crystal Motor Speedway Late Model Scott Baker
Crystal Motor Speedway IMCA Modified Myron DeYoung
Crystal Motor Speedway Pro Stock Chad Raby
Crystal Motor Speedway Pro Truck Curtis Rice
Crystal Motor Speedway Street Flinn Stock Dustin Weber
Crystal Motor Speedway Flinn Stocks James Snyder
Flat Rock Speedway Street Stock “A Main” Greg Studt*
Flat Rock Speedway Street Stock “B Main” Jeffrey Kurzyniec*
Flat Rock Speedway Figure “8” Billy Earley*
Flat Rock Speedway ARCA Enduro Jimmy Tucker*
G.L.S. Mini Cups Young Guns & Over All Series Jarrod Pritchett
G.L.S. Mini Cups Rookie of the Year Amanda Bohn
Great Lake Sprint Series Chase Ridenour
I-96 Speedway Late Model Bry Sloan
I-96 Speedway Four Cylinder Kodee Thompson
MCR Dwarf Car Series John Furnas
Merritt Speedway UMP Late Model Eric Spangler
Merritt Speedway UMP Modified David Mielke
Merritt Speedway Pro Truck Richie Sutherland
Merritt Speedway Factory Stock Jim Miller Jr.
Merritt Speedway Lightning Sprints Andrew Scheid
Merritt Speedway Four Cylinder Chad Tomczak
Michigan Traditional Sprint Dirt Series Mike Galajda
Michigan Traditional Sprint Pavement Series Douglas Dietsch
Mid-Michigan Raceway Park Late Model Bill Murawski Jr.
Mid-Michigan Raceway Park Pro Stock Jake Headley*
Mid-Michigan Raceway Park Street Stock Klye Thomas
Midwest Indoor Racing Series Go Kart Gold Plate Kaitlin Randall
Midwest Indoor Racing Series Kid Kart Oliver Osborn
Midwest Indoor Racing Series Quarter Midget Sr. Honda, Sr. Animal & Lt. 160 Chase Burda
Midwest Indoor Racing Series Quarter Midget Jr. Animal & Jr. Honda Race Bible
Midwest Indoor Racing Series Quarter Midget Heavy 160 Bobby Stanley
Mt. Pleasant Speedway UMP Late Model Eric Spangler
Mt. Pleasant Speedway UMP Modified David Mielke
Silver Bullet Speedway Street Stock Calvin Jacques
Silver Bullet Speedway UMP Stock Car Victorya Truemner*
Silver Bullet Speedway Jr. Stock Zach Essex
S.O.D. Sprints On Dirt Series Brian Smith
Spartan Speedway Late Model Joey Barnhart
Spartan Speedway Modified Walt Obrinske Jr.
Spartan Speedway “B” Pony Stock Jacob Newman
Spartan Speedway Spartan Stock “B” Tanner Tallarico
Spartan Speedway Spartan Stock “C” David Kelly
Spartan Speedway Michigan Legends Series Greg Rudzik
Spartan Speedway Bandolero Bandits Logan Haughton
Spartan Speedway Bandolero Jr. Bandits Violet Townsend
Spartan Speedway Extreme Destruction Kelly Hollister
Thunderbird Raceway Modified Andy Sprague
Thunderbird Raceway Dirt Mod Greg Smith
Thunderbird Raceway Factory Stock Robbie Sternberg
Thunderbird Raceway Street Stock Joshua Sternberg
Thunderbird Raceway Cyber Stock Brian Carson
Thunderbird Raceway Young Gun Jacob Lenz
Thunderbird Raceway Warrior Mike Goodwin
Toledo Speedway Sportsman Ron Allen
Tri-City Motor Speedway Late Model Andrew Terrill
Tri-City Motor Speedway Pro Stock Nate Jones
Tri-City Motor Speedway Street Stock Shane Wright
Tri-City Motor Speedway Bomber Stock Preston DeShano
Tri-City Motor Speedway Mini Wedge Johnny Staszak
Winston Speedway Young Guns Greg Smith
Winston Speedway Bombers Nathan Magner
Kart Series & Quarter Midget Champion
Arthur Raceway Animal Class Jayden Thurlow
Arthur Raceway Blue Plate Brennan Osborn
Arthur Raceway Purple Plate Aiden Forster
Arthur Raceway Cage Kart Adam Turk
Arthur Raceway Flathead Class Mike Schmidt
Arthur Raceway Open Class Mike Englehardt
Houghton Lake Kart Speedway Purple Plate Joe Walter
Houghton Lake Kart Speedway Open Class Anthony Deming
Houghton Lake Kart Speedway Pro Stock George Newman
Houghton Lake Kart Speedway Rookie Class Trace Reay
MMRA Lt. 160, SR. Animal & Lt. World Formula Conner Zbozien
MMRA Heavy Honda Lauren Zbozien
Special Awards
MARFC Mechanic of the Year Rick Ridenour
MARFC Promoter of the Year Gene & Linda Henrickson
Mid-Michigan Raceway Park
MARFC Fan of the Year Sponsored by:  Susan Ginter In Memory of “Randall Ginter” John Jackson
MARFC Appreciation Awards

Jimmy Tucker
Milt Wood
Zbozien Racing
Doug Jakeway

MSPA Promoter of the Year 2016 Gary & Donna Howe
Kalamazoo Speedway
“Midwest Racing Scene” Henry J. Fitzwater Driver of the Year 2016
Presented by Terry Fitzwater
Pavement – Tyler Roahrig
Dirt – Dona Marcoullier