Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

2014 Awards Banquet

View Photos Here

48th Annual Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club
Awards Banquet
Celebrating Achievements during the
2013 Racing Season

DeCarlo’s Banquet Center, Center Line, MI

January 18, 2014

President “Wild” Bill Barnhart
Vice President Dave DeHem
Secretary-Treasurer Susan Ginter
Advisor Vito LoPiccolo
P. R. Director Rand Thompson
Board of Directors
Barbara Gullett – Larry Iacoboni
Jeff Horan – Jack Lecot
Al Peltier – Fran Russo
Rand Thompson – Bill Walters
Master of Ceremonies
Larry Loynes
Membership Chairperson Fran Russo
Raffle Tickets Jeff Horan
Al Peltier
Barb Gullett
Photographer Paul Anton
Raffle Prize Chairperson Larry Iacoboni
MARFC President’s Award Bob Senneker
Eddie Sachs Memorial
Lifetime Achievement Award
Jay Woolworth
MARFC Electronic Media Award Bob Dillner
ARCA Racing Series by Menards Frank Kimmel
ARCA Late Model Gold Cup Series Scott Hantz
Auto City Speedway Modified Jordan Pruitt
Auto City Street Stock Jim Miller Jr.
Auto City Speedway Figure “8” Chad Lamson
Bishop Performance Legends Club Series Bobby Murany*
Bishop Performance Legends Club Rookie of the Year Kyle Maki
Crystal Motor Speedway Late Model Scott Baker
Crystal Motor Speedway IMCA Modified Chad Wernette
Crystal Motor Speedway Pro Truck Nate Jones
Crystal Motor Speedway Pro Stock Don Rohn
Crystal Motor Speedway Flinn Stock Tyson Miniers
Flat Rock Speedway Late Model Dennis Strickland
Flat Rock Speedway Street Stock “A” Main Grant Hedges
Flat Rock Speedway Figure “8” Greg Studt
Flat Rock/Toledo Speedway
Four Cylinder Over All
David Katafiasz
Flat Rock Speedway Enduro Jeff Metdepenningen*
Gran Bend Speedway Legends Sean McPherson*
G.L.S. Mini Cups Series Morgen Baird
G. L. S. Mini Cups Rookie of the Year Justin Carley
I-96 Speedway UMP Modified Travis Stelmer
I-96 Speedway Street Stock Josh Frye
I-96 Speedway Sports Compacts Nick Jenema
Kalamazoo Speedway Cyber Stock Jack Cook
MCR Dwarf Car Series Eric Hoffman
MCR Dwarf Series True Rookie of the Year Ed LaRoe Jr.
MCR Dwarf Series Rookie of the Year
with Experience
Kim Hughes
Merritt Raceway UMP Late Model David Hilliker
Merritt Raceway UMP Modified Kevin Miller
Merritt Raceway Pro Truck Bobby Liuzzo Jr.
Merritt Raceway Pro Street Steven Hilliker*
Merritt Raceway Factory Stock Rick Stewart
Michigan Traditional Sprint Series
Rookie of the Year
Lucas Smith
Mt. Pleasant Speedway UMP Street Stock Josh Frye
Must See TV Xtreme Sprint Car Brian Gerster
Owosso Speedway Pro Late Model Jason Felver
Silver Bullet Speedway UMP Modified Chad Spencer
Silver Bullet Speedway Jr. Stock Anthony Deming*
Silver Bullet Speedway Stock Car Rob Brillhart
Spartan Speedway Michigan Legends Series Matt Todd
Spartan Speedway Modified Jon McNett
Spartan Speedway “A” Pony Stock Brian Beckner
Spartan Speedway “B” Pony Stock Brian Boesel
Spartan Speedway Spartan Stock “A” Josh Trammell
Spartan Speedway Spartan Stock “B” David Kelley
Springport Motor Speedway Modified Earl Miles
Springport Motor Speedway Stock Car “B” Division John Trudell
Springport Motor Speedway Stock Car “C” Division Martin French
Springport Motor Speedway Sport Stock Aaron Taylor
Toledo Speedway Sportsman Jim Froling*
Toledo Speedway Figure “8” Dennis Whisman*
Toledo Speedway X-Car Division Tom O’ Leary IV
Top Speed ICAR Non-Wing Sprint Tour John Turnbull Jr.*
Tri-City Motor Speedway Late Model Zack Olger
Tri-City Motor Speedway Street Stock Kevin Strong
Tri-City Motor Speedway Pro Stock Rick Spencer
Tri-City Motor Speedway Stock FWD Duane Winchell Jr.
Winston Speedway Factory Stock Robbie Sternberg
Winston Speedway Young Guns Billy Frey
Quarter Midget & Kart Series Champions
Arthur Raceway Gold Plate Carter Bennett
Arthur Raceway Raptor Gas Jeff Johnson
Arthur Raceway Animal Alcohol Mike Engelhardt
Arthur Raceway Cage Kart Jim Watz
Arthur Raceway Clone &
Mid-Michigan Summer Dirt Series Clone
Tom Hodges III
Arthur Raceway Open Class &
Mid-Michigan Summer Dirt Series
Mike Barrios
Mid-Michigan Summer Dirt Series
Purple Plate Expert
“Slammin Sammy” Crawford
Mid-Michigan Summer Dirt Series
Gold Plate Class
Matthew Jacot*
Mid-Michigan Summer Dirt Series
Open Animal Alcohol Class
April Tabaszewski
Houghton Lake Super Dirt Series Sportsman Class Maggie Deming*
Houghton Lake Super Dirt Series Pro Stock Class Anthony Deming*
Houghton Lake Super Dirt Series Open Class Geo. Newman
Houghton Lake Super Dirt Series Purple Plate Alcohol Richie Montgomery
MMRA Sr. Honda & SR. Animal Conner Zbozien
Special Awards
Co-MARFC Mechanics of the Year Dave Jacot
Chad Bennett
MARFC Promoter of the Year
Sponsored by: Jim’s Industrial Catering Services
In Memory of Sonny Adams
Scott Menlen
Mid-west Indoor Racing Series
MARFC Fan of the Year
Sponsored by Jim’s Industrial Catering Service
In Memory of “Big Jim” Gullett
Greg Shepard
Candy Baschal
MARFC Appreciation Awards Dennis Schalm
Barb Schalm
MARFC Special Appreciation Awards Dave DeHem
Paul Anton
MARFC Special Achievement Award Taylor Ferns
MSPA Promoter of the Year 2013 Gary & Donna Howe
Kalamazoo Speedway
“Tom Carnegie” Announcer of the Year Award 2013
Presented by Terry Fitzwater
Denny Adams
Anderson Speedway