Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

President’s Desk – December 2005



Saturday, January 21, 2006 


34701 Groesbeck just South of 15 Mile Road

Clinton Township, Michigan 

Doors Open at 5:00 p.m. with Dinner at 6:00p.m. 

Ticket Reservation Deadline is 1/10/2006 


CONTACT BILL BARNHART AT: for more information!


December 2005 

Once again all of the racing is done for 2005, the Champions are being crowned, and new cars are in the works for some as repairing the old one is for others. Christmas will soon be here and I think it’s time we look back on 2005 and thank the good Lord for all we have. Always remember those who we have lost this year and give a prayer for our troops who are away during this holiday season. I hope that all of you get everything you have on your Christmas list and have a safe and Happy Holidays. From all of the Board of Directors and myself MERRY CHRISTMAS & A HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Remember that your 2006 membership renewal is due now so don’t waste anytime and get yours in ASAP as the postage rates are going up in 2006. On that note I ask once again if you all can take the time and send me an e-mail at with your current e-mail address so I can update and send out your monthly newsletter and other information this will help us on the increase of the postage costing each month. Please just let me now if you prefer e-mail only. I Thank you in advance for helping us out.

Our 40th Annual MARFC Banquet once again will be held on January 21, 2006 at the Imperial House Banquet Hall located in Clinton Township, Mi. Just to let you all know we have invited some of our past top award winners to return and help us celebrate this great event. We have conformation that Herb Fishel former GM Motorsports Director will be with us as well as Sandy Heng who won our Media Award a few years back. Ron Drager President of ARCA will be on hand as well as car builder Stan Yee Sr. Champion driver Bob Studt and the Michigan Legend Joy Fair is expected to be with us. We have also invited Shirley Muldowney, Pat Patrick, Paul Gentolzzi, Gordon Johncock, and Kris Patterson. We hope to hear from all these past award winners soon.

Our winners for our top awards this year are outstanding. The MARFC Motorsports Electronic Media Award winner will be given to Larry Loynes for his radio show “RACE TALK” on WFNT AM 1470. The Motorsports Writer of the Year goes to Bob Capps for all his articles in the Vintage Oval Racing and Victory Lane Magazines as well as many others. The MARFC/Eddie Sachs Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to a legend of our sport Jack Goodwin. The top award is the MARFC Presidents Award and it will be presented to the Michigan International Speedway with the Speedway President Brett Shelton on hand to accept. Plus we have many other surprise awards as well as the MSPA Promoter of the Year Award and Terry Fitzwater will be on hand to present the Michigan Racing Scene Driver of the Year Award. Once again if you need tickets you will need to contact me ASAP, as there will be NO TICKETS SOLD AT THE DOOR!

Once again don’t forget to renew your membership and get your banquet tickets early. As always any questions or comment contact me at: Bill Barnhart, e-mail

Bill Barnhart

President MARFC


November Meeting 

I’d like to thank all those who attended our general meeting in November.

It was a great time and with lots to see. It was nice to see some of our older members as well as a few new ones who came out to support our club.

All our members were allowed to tour the R. E. Olds Transportation Museum, as well as the Michigan MotorSports Hall of Fame section at the Museum. I thought it was a neat place with a lot of history to see. I’d like to Thank Dan Van Koevering from the Hall of Fame for helping get this event arranged for us. Our Children’s Christmas Fund Raiser Raffle drawing was held and club member Dolores Luke of Lansing was the winner of the custom 40th Anniversery MARRC Racing Jacket. Many thanks to all of you who bought tickets to help the kid’s party. 

New club members Jeremy & Bobbie Snelenberger check out the MMHoF section.

Vintage Oldsmobile NASCAR racer