Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

February 2003 Minutes

With nearly 400 people in attendance this year the new location was a fantastic night for all. The Imperial House has been booked again for next years banquet with lots of room and the meal and service was outstanding. It was great to see the founding fathers on hand at our banquet this year. Vito LoPiccolo, Bob Lewis, and Willis & Marion Flokstra were in attendance. These folks were the ones who started our club over 37 years ago. It was great to have all of them with us that night.

Unfortunately Jack Roush Winston Cup team owner was unable to be with us to receive our Personality of the Year Award he was in Charlotte and got tied up and couldn’t make it back in time for the banquet. The Motor sports Writer of the Year Mike Brudenell from the Detroit Free Press was on hand and had a lot of good thing to say about the club and writing. Stan Yee was honored to a standing ovation as we presented our Lifetime Achievement Award for his nearly 50 years of building and owning championship cars with many great drivers. The Michigan Media Award of Excellence was presented to ESPN & Bob Jenkins. Bob was unable to be with us but did send along a very special thank you to all for the fans for making the past 20 years fun and exciting. Terry Fitzwarter and the Michigan Racing Scene where on hand to receive the Motorsports Publication of the Year.

Congratulation to Paul Zimmerman on the purchase of the old Springport Speedway and we here at MARFC wish him and his staff the best in 2003 as it has been renamed the “Calhoun County Speedway”.  “Poor” Paul now has two tracks he is truly now “Poor” Paul.

Bill Barnhart

President MARFC



Please be patient…this page may load slowly due to the many photos of our Award Recipients

Each year the Fan Club recognizes champions from member tracks and sanctioning bodies and individuals or organizations we feel have positively impacted the sport we love.

This year the Michigan Automobile Racing Fan Club is pleased to honor these fine people for their continued effort to make Auto racing the number 1 sport in the world.

Also awarded at this year’s Banquet were the Michigan Speedway Promoters Association “Promoter of the Year” and The Michigan Racing Scene “Driver of the Year” Award.

No Photo Available

Michigan Auto Racing Personality of the Year

Jack Roush

Lifetime Achievement Award

Stan Yee

Michigan Media Award of Excellence

Bob Jenkins

After waiting 4 months, our own Eddie Sachs was able to present the award to Bob at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in May, 2003

Photo Courtesy of Chris Yakey- Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Motorsports Writer of the Year

Mike Brudenell

Detroit Free Press

Motorsports Publication of the Year

Terry Fitzwater

Michigan Racing Scene


ARCA Series

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Frank Kimmell (ARCA Re/Max Series, represented by ARCA President, Ron Drager), Dave Baumgartner (ARCA Auto Value Midget Series), Chad Guinn (ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series), and  Carl Bumgardner representing Harold Fair Jr. Late Model Gold Cup Series)

Auto City Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Jay Reinbold (Late Model), Todd Matheson (Modified), Joe Hodgeson Jr. (Factory Stock) and Nick Clemens (Thunder Truck)

Butler Speedway

Laura Tucker Congratulates Street Stock Champion Eric Wilson.  Butler Champions not pictured- Terry Sroufe (UMP Late Model), Ken Mackey (Sprint Car), and Chris Joy (Enduro).

Cherry Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Eric Spangler (Late Model), Larry Cade Sr. (Modified), Jeff Holmes (Street Stock), and Jeff Cade (Cruiser Bomber).

Crystal Motor Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Jeff Riest (Pro Stock), Mike Lafferty (Pro Truck), Myron DeYoung (IMCA Modified), and Dana Dennis (Hobby Stock)

Flat Rock Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Royce Cornett (Late Model represented by Brian Norton), Ron Allen (Street Stock), Jimmy Rae (Street Stock B-Main), Nick Bradley (Street Stock C-Main) and Greg Studt (Figure 8)

Ionia Raceway Park

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Jeff Riest (Pro Stock)

Kinross Speedway

L to R, Dave DeHem Congratulates Michael Gold (Late Model), and Brett Widdis (Pure Stock)

Merritt Speedway

L to R, Dave DeHem Congratulates Frank Seder (Late Model, represented by Ed Van Duinen) and Greg Wangler (MMA Modified)

Michigan Modified Series

L to R, Dave DeHem Congratulates Harry Parrish Jr. (Asphalt) and Dan Borgman (Dirt)

Michigan Legends Series

L to R, Dave DeHem Congratulates Rick Kilbourn (MAsters), John Turnbull Jr. (Pro), Shaun Jennison (Semi-Pro) and Mike Satkowiak (Rookie  of the Year)

Mid Michigan Raceway Park

No Photo Available

Junior Smith (Late Model), Randy Reusink (Modified), Kevin Rohn (Street Stock), Rick Adams and Nathan Patrick (Mod 4 Co-Champions)

Mt. Pleasant Speedway

No Photo Available

Chad Bauer (MMA Modified)

Owosso Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Roger Wing (Super Late Model), Harry Parrish Jr. (Modified), and Mark Abee (Street Stock)

Spartan Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Kyle Ballad (Pony Stock) and Bill Lackey representing Doug Finley (Late Model), Jim Butler (MMA Modified), Rob Marten (Street Stock) and Eric Gilbert (Figure 8)

Toledo Speedway

L to R, Laura Tucker Congratulates Ron Allen (Late Model), Carl Bungardner (Pro-Stock), and Dennis Whisman (Figure 8)

Quarter Midget Champs

Laura Tucker Congratulates (in no particular order), Andrew Abbott (Sr. Stock), Andrew Clark (Heavy Mod), Gregory Rudzik (Heavy Stock), Chris Perry (Jr. Honda), Brandon Abbot (Heavy Honda), Eric Fountain (Heavy 160), Kevin Hawk (Light 160 and Light Mod), J. R. Crow (Sr. Honda), Ricky Williams (Jr. Honda), Kenton Taylor (Sr. Stock), Nicholas Grodi (Sr. Stock), and Bradley Gudith (Jr. Stock)

Special Awards

Promoter of the Year

Paul Zimmerman of Spartan Speedway

Mechanic of the Year

Roger Smith

Fan of the Year

Larry and Kenny Letts

Appreciation Awards

Cathie Rohloff

Bill Palmer

Patty Abbott

Dan Goulette

Steve Russell


Brad Petitpren of Petitpren Inc. (not pictured)

Michigan Speedway Promoters Association

Promoter of the year

Paul Zimmerman, Spartan Speedway pictured with MSPA President, Ron Drager.

Michigan Racing Scene Driver of theYear

Terry Fitzwater (R) presents John Grega (L) with the 2002 Michigan Racing Scene Driver of the Year Award.

Special Thanks

A very Special Thanks to the following people who brought their racecars to the banquet and put them on display for all to see.  It was outstanding to have five cars on display at the banquet.

Roger Blackstock (Hooter ‘s Cup car)

Todd Matheson (Auto City Championship Michigan Modified car)

Dave DeHem (Michigan Legends car)

Gary Singleton (Super Late Model Dirt Car)

Indy Racing League Show Car arranged for by Bill Janitz of Michigan International Speedway.