Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

February 2001 Minutes

FROM THE DESK OF THE PRESIDENTOnce again another fantastic banquet for the Fan Club. With nearly 400 people in attendance made it one of the best banquets in years. Welcome to all the newest members who joined that night and we hope that you enjoy all your future newsletters to come. As we start our 36th year the club has a lot of plans and hopes to bring you yet another racing facility to be able to attend as a MARFC Fan Club day. A list of Fan Club days will be listed in next month’s newsletter. Best Wishes and a speedy recovery to Earl Baltes after heart surgery last month.

Bill Barnhart
President MARFC


February 22, 2001

Once again the world of auto racing has lost a true and great legend of our sport. Many people around the world are mourning following the death of Dale Earnhardt.  The name Earnhardt will be remembered for many generations to come.  NASCAR has lost not only a friend but also, one of its largest icons.  The Intimidator passed away in a crash during the 2001 Daytona 500.

We here at the Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club send our thoughts and prayers to the Earnhardt family, the entire DEI family, as well as the family of Richard Childress Racing.

We do know that God has a purpose for all things even though we might not understand them.  He has taken Dale to be with him and Dale now stands beside him in the most glorious victory lane there will ever be…”Heaven”.

God’s Speed Dale!

Bill Barnhart
President MARFC

Farewell to the Champ
In Memory of Dale Earnhardt


January 20, 2001-Warren, MI—The 2001 MARFC Awards Banquet was enjoyable as always.  Honored were Champions from member tracks and a host of others dedicated to auto racing and true race fans.

All Photographs on this page courtesy of Paul Anton Racing Photos.


Michigan Auto Racing Personality of the Year, Ron Drager.

ARCA President, Ron Drager(m), received MARFC’s top honors as Michigan’s Auto Racing Personality of the Year.  Shown here with Herb Fishel(r)-past recipient of the award and President, Bill Barnhart(l).


Lifetime AchievementBob Studt

Bob had quite a story to tell.  After many years of Driving he is now Helping his son Gregg tear up the 8 just as he did.

Bob Studt(l), Bill Barnhart(r)-MARFC President

Electronic Media AwardSandy Heng-WXYZ/Channel 7 Sports

Sandy Heng of Detroit’s own WXYZ/Channel 7 News received the Electronic Media Award.  Sandy made light of other sportscaster’s lack of interest in reporting motorsports and told of us her upcoming assignments.

Bill Barnhart-MARFC President(l) and Sandy Heng(r)

Motorsports Writer of the Year

Mike Pryson of The Jackson Citizen Patriot


Based on his acceptance speech mike has learned alot about motorsports—the hard way!!!


Mike Pryson(l), Bill Barnhart-MARFC President (r)


Mechanics of the YearKen (Pap-Paw) Ahlgren and Bill Meade


Most appropriately, this honor was awarded to two fantastic mechanics for the first time in MARFC history.


Top-Bill Barnhart-MARFC President (r)

Ken Ahlgren (l)


Bill Barnhart-MARFC President (r)

Bill Meade (l)


Promoter of the YearMerritt speedway


Ed and Carmen Van Duinen


Ed VanDuinen (l),  Carmen Van Duinen (m)

Bill Barnhart-MARFC President (l)


Michigan Auto Racing Fan of the Year

Dave DeHem


Bill Barnhart-MARFC President (l), Dave DeHem (r)



Quarter MidgetThese kids really steal the show.  Congratulations!!

Crystal Motor Speedway ChampsPictured left to right

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Jeff Reist-Pro Stock

David Dancer-Pro Truck

Greg Wiles-IMCA Modified

Larry Carman-Hobby Stock

Flat Rock Speedway ChampsPictured left to right

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Rick Knowles-Late Model

Ron Allenl-Street Stock A

Bill Kollinger-Street Stock B

Ken Ahlgren-Figure 8

Spartan Speedway ChampsPictured left to right

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Rick McDaniels Representing Doug Finley-Late Model

Lee Taylor-MMA Modifieds

Rob Marten-Street Stock

Springport Speedway ChampsPictured left to right

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Brian Huntley-Street Stock

Toledo Speedway Champs

Pictured left to right – Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President, Don St. Denis-Late Model, Ron Allen-Street Stock, Paul Duffin-Factory Stock, Ken Ahlgren-Figure 8

Owosso Speedway Champs Pictured left to right – Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President, Rick McDaniels representing Doug Finley-Super Late Model, Marty Babbit-Late Model, Laci Donnert with daughter Jessica-Street Stock

ARCA Series ChampsPictured left to right.

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President, Jim Clarke representing Frank Kimmell-ARCA Bondo Mar/Hyde, Kevin Bockstanz representing Gene Lee Gibson-Midgets, Robbin Slaughter-Trucks

Michigan Legends SeriesPictured left to right

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Mike Lowe.-Semi Pro Series

Todd Clees-Rookie Champion

John Turmbull Jr.-Pro Series

Bill Simmons-Masters Series

Michigan Modified Asphalt SeriesBrad Roberts


Pictured left to right

Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Brad Roberts

Butler Speedway ChampsPictures L to R, Jim Buckley-MARFC Vice-President

Terry Sroufe-UMP Late Models

Ken Mackey-Sprint Car

Eric Wilson-Street Stock

Special Appreciation Awards

Roger Blackstock-For displaying the MARFC logo on the hood of his ARCA Bondo Mar/Hyde Series Car during the 2000 Season.  Roger also said that the logo will appear on the car as long as he is racing.


Jim Buckley-For his service in the club.


The late Elmer Simko-Daughter Deana Simko/Howe accepts his award presented for his true devotion and support of auto racing.


Special thanks to the race teams of Ken Ahlgren and Roger Blackstock for preparing and bringing their cars to display at the banquet.