Dedicated to the Betterment and Benefit of Auto Racing and Those Engaged Therein

1973 Awards Banquet

1973 Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club Awards Banquet
Attendance 870
President Vito LoPiccolo
Vice President Carl Forberg
Secretery-Treasurer Barbara LoPiccolo
Publicity Directors Dick Duff Jan Shaffer
Frances Duff Willis Flokstra
Al Hall Russ Jacobson
Don O’Reilly Al Placky
Al Spence Bill Stone
Master of Ceremonies
WXYZ Radio
Swedish Crucible Steel Co.–Olsonite Eagle
Michigan’s Auto Racing Man of the Year
Art Mitchell Memorial Award John Tenny
Motorsports Writer of the Year Bob Latshaw
Detroit Free Press
Recognition Award WBRB Radio
Rookie of the Year Buddy Bennett
Road Racer of the Year Gene Henderson
USAC Sprint Car Champ Sam Sessions
USAC Midget Champ Duane “Pancho” Carter Jr.
AMRA Midget Champ DannyJohnson
ARCA New Car Champ Ron Hucherson
Auto City Speedway Champ Bill Bielby
Berlin Raceway John Benson
Checker Flag Speedway Jim Lucido
Crystal Speedway Phil Hanus
Cayuga Speedway Jerry Makara
Dixie & Clarke Speedways Art Sommers
Flat Rock & Toledo Speedways Joy Fair
Jackson Speedway & C.A.R.S. Bob Morgan
Jackson, Spartan & C.A.R.S. 6 Cyl Champ Dick “Lil Richard” Simmons
Limaland Speedway Sprint Champ Rocky Fisher
Mt. Clemens Race Track (Super) Ray Nece
Mt. Clemens Race Track (6 cyl.) Carl Sholz
Mt. Pleasent Speedway Dave Parker
Owosso Speedway Gary Fedewa
Tri-City Speedway Ed Howe